The Breaking Point

In psychology the breaking point is known as the critical moment of stress in which a person finally breaks down. But it's also used as a synonym for a breakthrough or a turning point. I love the ambiguity of this wordplay. So what's the point in "Breaking Point" you ask? I leave that to you.

Less confusing should be the subtitle "10 Years Of Truth & Devotion". To be honest, we're already in year 11 after the foundation of MiS ... but who cares. People took notice of us not until some years later anyway, so we could celebrate another ten years in 2016. 2006 was the time
when MiS became a real band, after three years being a one-man project. This time has been the time when I was proud of my band the most. Hitting the stage, releasing those highly inspired first two EPs, getting all this great reaction from the media and listeners worldwide - that was awesome. That may have not being the time when our sound has been polished the most, but the energy was there and the power of being a collective with common goals. That's why I chose to emphasize this phase by mentioning the first EPs in the subtitle.

 

The intention behind this release is obviously to celebrate our 10th anniversary. That's a true milestone for us and I'm proud that we came so far. Something that none of our records, especially the later ones, really captured is the Rock 'N Roll spirit that we had live. So that has been something I really wanted to focus on. That's why you'll get to hear not only three live-tracks, but some more straight-forward stuff as well, rather than showing more of our "Dark" or "Gothic" side. I always felt a bit misunderstood regarding this touch. I really love oldschool Gothic Metal, as well as some Stoner- or Doom Metal, but I've never been too much of a Gothic-guy. Admittely there were some times when we began to please that audience a bit more then we used to the years before. We had this label deal with Echozone and thought it would be appropriate to adapt this style a bit more to fit into the media that Echozone uses to provide with their promos. It did us no good, even though it helped to get noticed by a brighter audience. But you lose the people you want to listen to your music, if you start to make compromises. Don't get me wrong, I really love "Day Of Renewal", because it has some great tracks like "Mortality", "Shadow World" or "Everything I Hate. But we also were a band that was about to split-up and some minor things like the artwork, our look or the way some of the songs were arranged didn't feel right. And that has been something that some sharp-sighted media guys noticed as well and so we had mixed reactions about our music for the first time ever. I've corrected that by releasing the EP "Black Halo" one year later on my own, after we played our last show with the old line-up. This release brought back the balls to our music. Unfortunately you guys didn't take as much as notice as you had of the album, but thats comprehensible, since I couldn't put that much manpower and budget in marketing and distribution as Echozone were able to.

 

So here I am again. A lonely wolf, self-releasing his music the old DIY-way and hoping you guys dig it. That is obviously not the way to run a band, but it's the right thing to do for now. After all you'll be able to hear every bandmember of the past line-ups on "Breaking Point - 10 Years Of Truth & Devotion". There will be those new tracks, which I've record completely myself, but as well livetracks & demos where you can hear all the boys & girls in action, that I were able to work with in the past.

 

I hope you like the new songs, since they are the once that make me feel alive the most at the moment. You can get the album from march 7th on exclusively at www.bandcamp.mirroredinsecrecy.com for only 5 €. If you wish to get a copy on CD you can order it in our official shop.

 

So long - thanks for reading this entry and your interest in MiS. I love to read your feedback on this release, so don't hesitate to comment this blog or write me a mail.

 

Best wishes

David

Kommentar schreiben

Kommentare: 0

Follow MiS:


Get our music: